The Roaming Foodie

The Bookhouse Pub

Posted on: July 4, 2010

Tuesday night, Andrew and I met Andrew’s sister at The Bookhouse Pub for dinner. I’m pretty sure the main reason we went here was for the extensive beer list because both Andrew and his sister had each had a rough day and agreed that a beer was in order. I didn’t partake in this aspect of the evening, so I can’t say much about the alcohol other than the beer list is significantly larger than the food menu. But, they also have decent food.

Andrew and his sister each got a burger, and I got a veggie burger. The veggie burger was made from edamame, black beans, roasted corn and red peppers. It was pretty good, although it fell apart very easily (I’m guessing because it was fresh made) and I ended up eating it with a fork. It also had kind of a cornmeal texture to it, so I’m guessing they used something like that to bind it together, but I didn’t mind it. It just kind of reminded me of cornbread. They also grilled the bun that it was served on, which was a nice touch and something I always enjoy. It was served with “asian bbq” sauce (aka, hoisin sauce) and instead of fries I had a side salad with ginger vinaigrette. I didn’t try any of Andrew’s burger, but I did snag some fries. The fries were kind of oversalted.

Service was good, if not overly friendly.

The bookshelf in the place is small. It runs only part of the wall, and is like this little shelf right next to the ceiling. I kind of thought that a place named “The Bookhouse Pub” would have more of a décor focus on books. But I guess the point is the booze and the food, so I won’t count it against them too much.

Plus, I’m kind of obsessed with this veggie burger now.

The Bookhouse Pub on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

