The Roaming Foodie

Chocolate Hot Pots

Posted on: January 20, 2011

This is not in the interest of those following New Year’s resolutions to diet and such, and I myself am trying to eat better as well, but these are just too good and too simple to NOT write about.  I came about this recipe after watching Nigella Lawson on Cooking Channel while I was at home for the holidays.  While I can’t eat sweets (or really eat at all) like I used to, I seem to always be able to find room for these little ramekins of heaven. I used to love making molten chocolate cakes, but they always seemed to take forever, and getting them out of the ramekins always turned into a big blob of melted chocolate, not the neat little cake that stands on a plate until someone pierces it with a spoon and turns it into a volcano of melted gooey chocolate.  That was what I loved about those recipes…it took this unassuming little cake and made eating it into something more. This recipe takes all that I didn’t like about molten chocolate cakes and throws it out the window. There’s no unmolding. No flouring after buttering the ramekin (something that I detest, despite how much I love baking). Just enjoyment of the lush molten chocolate, perfect for indulging.

Chocolate Hot Pots
Makes 4

by the way, Nigella calls them “chocohotopots”. Her recipe is here, but I’ve changed it just a bit:
http://www.cookingchanneltv.com/recipes/nigella-lawson/chocohotopots-recipe/index.html

1 stick of butter, plus enough (about a tablespoon) for greasing
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
2 eggs
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3 tablespoons flour

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Butter the ramekins with the tablespoon of butter.

Melt the chocolate and butter together, either in a bowl that’s set on top of a small pan of simmering water (aka a double boiler) or in the microwave, until it is completely melted and silky. Remove from heat and let cool slightly.

Beat the eggs and sugar together in a bowl. Beat in 3 tablespoons of flour. Stir in the melted chocolate. Pour into the four ramekins. Bake immediately, or you can also put any that you don’t want to bake immediately in the fridge, and bake them when you please.

Bake for 20 minutes. They’ll be cracked and done looking on top.

These are very hot when they come out of the oven. Place the ramekin on a plate, and serve with a spoon. Warn everyone that they’ll be hot, though.

Leave a comment