The Roaming Foodie

Hands down, the best pizza I’ve ever eaten

Posted on: April 15, 2010

Quite an introduction, right?

It’s absolutely true. I have no fear that I will give this pizza too much hype, because I know for a fact that it is the best pizza. Ever.

No, it’s not in New York. Or Italy. Or Chicago. I’ve been to New York at least, eaten pizza there, and still think this is the greatest pizza ever.

It’s at a place called Antico, in little old Atlanta. It’s on 14th Street and Hemphill Avenue (which, I thought was on Georgia Tech’s campus, but was thoroughly corrected by my boyfriend and my best friend’s boyfriend, who are both friends, and are both Techies. So I guess they’d know. But if you’re like me and just want to generalize the location, it’s pretty much Tech’s campus).

Anyhow, my brother (I proclaim him my Atlanta food expert) had recommended this place to me several times, telling met that it was the best pizza he’d ever eaten. I was skeptical, after he had taken my boyfriend and me to Varasano’s, which I thought was the best pizza ever. He told me that Antico was a million times better than Varasano’s (which is saying A LOT, as Varasano’s is very good).

So, Friday night, I found myself ordering from Antico. We ordered the Margherita (tomato sauce, mozzarella, and basil) and the Cappriciosa. I’m pretty sure they accidentally gave us the Margherita and the San Gennaro (sweet red peppers, sausage, and buffalo mozzarella), now that I look back at the menu.

We didn’t eat in the restaurant, instead taking our pizzas back with us, but the vibe of the place is pretty cool. There’s some countertops, a big communal table, and overflow seating in the kitchen. The kitchen seating sounds kinda weird, but my brother sat there and said it was really cool being able to watch them make the pizzas in the brick ovens and such. It’s also very much a BYOB joint. Seriously. A guy walked in with a bottle of wine in one hand and glasses in the other. One guy walked in with a case of beer. So there you go.

We secured our pizzas, after waiting for a short time for them to be cooked. We called and placed our order ahead, but they don’t make it until you get there, because it takes a very short amount of time to actually cook, since they’re cooking it in a high degree brick oven. But if you call ahead, you can walk on up to the front of the line (if there is one…we didn’t have that issue when we went) and tell them your ticket and they’ll make it asap.

My brother did not disappoint. It really is the best pizza I’ve ever had. The crust is absolutely amazing, some parts charred by the brick oven fire, other parts really soft. the sauce was good but not overpowering, and there wasn’t too much of it (I’m not a fan of a lot of sauce, so this was perfect for me). Everything was fresh and high quality. The Margherita was everything it should’ve been and more (I love tomatoes and mozzarella, and this was probably the best thing I’ve had with that combination on it) But the best thing was the red peppers on the San Gennaro. They were incredibly sweet, but also spicy at the same time. I could’ve eaten a whole box of those peppers alone. I’ve never tasted anything like them. The sausage on the pizza was alright, but I’m not much of a sausage person. My boyfriend seemed to think the sausage was amazing though. And the crust is so thin, that you don’t feel miserably full after eating a lot of it (trust me, you will eat a lot of it) I’m already craving it again…The pizzas are a tad on the pricey side, especially for a college student like myself, but you pay for what you get, and what you get is amazing, well cooked, absolutely perfect and authentic pizza topped with fresh and high quality ingredients.

So, if you’re in Atlanta, go to Antico right now. Or as soon as you can. And if you’re not in Atlanta, find a way to get down there, and go to Antico to eat.  I’m telling you…it’s completely worth it

Antico Pizza Napoletana on Urbanspoon

1 Response to "Hands down, the best pizza I’ve ever eaten"

[…] Why is that when I eat here, I always want to go back the very next […]

Leave a Reply

