The Roaming Foodie

Bourbon Peach Pie

Posted on: July 4, 2010

Andrew’s parents, whom I’ve met once before, visited last weekend, and I volunteered to make a dessert for when we have dinner. I decided to make a peach pie because I saw Georgia peaches in the grocery store the other day. While they are not nearly as great as South Carolina peaches (don’t worry SC…I won’t forsake your sweet, juicy, delicious peaches), they are still pretty good , and will definitely suffice for pie. I had my mom e-mail me the family recipe for peach pie. Since Andrew’s family also hails from Kentucky, I wanted to honor that by throwing some of the bourbon Andrew keeps around in with the peach filling (not part of Mom’s recipe, but I found a recipe on smittenkitchen.com). So, using my Mom’s pastry and Smitten Kitchen’s bourbon peach filling, I threw together what turned out to be a very pretty pie, if I do say so myself. And I think they really enjoyed it too. I hope so.

Another thing. If you forget the lemon juice in the pastry, don’t worry. Just replace it with cold water, or you can do like I did, which is squeeze a little juice from a peach (I was wearing my creative pants when I made the pastry, clearly) and throw it in there. It really won’t make a difference without it, though.

Also, I really suggest you try the bourbon, even if you don’t like bourbon. The filling does not taste like bourbon at all, but it complements the peaches in a way that you wouldn’t get from not using it. If you’re really against it, then just leave it out. But even everyone who doesn’t like bourbon still liked the pie.

What I love about this pie is that it wasn’t too sweet. There’s no sugar in the crust, and minimal sugar in the filling, which allows the natural sweetness of the peaches to really shine through.

Pastry Recipe (from my Mom. Love you!)
This pastry is super easy, super quick to put together, and you can make it up to 3 days in advance. It will work for sweet pies or savory pies. Pretty versatile, huh?
2 cups flour
6 tbsp. each – cold stick butter cut into small pieces
6 tbsp Crisco (or another solid shortening)
3 tbsp. cold water
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

Put flour in medium bowl. cut in butter and shortening to look like small peas. Add water and lemon juice; toss with a fork until evenly moistened and pastry starts to clump together.
Gather into a ball , then divide in half. Press each half into a disk. Wrap and refrigerate at least 30 minutes until firm enough to roll out – up to 3 days.

Bourbon Peach Filling (adapted from SmittenKitchen.com)

9 or 10 peaches, cut into wedges
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
Pinch of salt
1 teaspoon bourbon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Glaze – 1 large egg mixed with 1 tbsp. water

Mix the peaches with the flour, sugar and pinch of salt, and add the bourbon and vanilla. Toss together.

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Lightly grease a 9″ pie plate. On lightly floured surface with lightly floured rolling pin, roll out 1 disk pastry to a 12″ circle. Fit into pie plate. Add filling, spread evenly, then dot with 2 tbsp butter. Roll remaining pastry into an 11″ circle.

Center circle over filling; press edges together, tuck under edge of bottom crust , flute, then brush top with glaze. Cut a few slits in the top for venting, brush with glaze and sprinkle with sugar. Remember to put aluminum foil around the edges to prevent burning. Bake 50 minutes

1 Response to "Bourbon Peach Pie"

Thanks a lot for sharing this recipe. I have been trying to find this recipe since I tasted this at a party I attended a couple of weeks ago. Im so glad I found your blog. Kudos for sharing!

Leave a Reply

