The Roaming Foodie

Bourbon Chocolate Chip Blondies

Posted on: October 12, 2010

So, here’s a story of how boyfriends can influence your cooking.

The other day while over at Andrew’s, I was in a terrible mood for no reason, and decided to bake in order to lift my spirits.

I had made Andrew blondies before, and he really liked them. I also had chocolate chips left over from brownie making that I wanted to use, so I settled on making chocolate chip blondies.

Andrew was helping me make them to keep me company, and as he was looking at all the things the recipe suggests you can add into blondies, and said, “You can put bourbon in these???”

Sigh. Andrew really enjoys whiskey. Kentucky whiskey (or bourbon, or whatever you call it. There’s a million types of whiskey, and I’m quite positive I wouldn’t like any of them).

The thought of bourbon makes me squirm (and yes, I know it tastes really good baked INTO things, just not by itself, and frankly, the raw smell of it gets to me), but he seemed so excited by the prospect of putting bourbon into this that I agreed.

And that is how my boyfriend convinced me turn these into bourbon chocolate chip blondies.

Bourbon Chocolate Chip Blondies

adapted from Smitten Kitchen’s website: http://smittenkitchen.com/2006/11/blondies-for-a-blondie/

By the way, I baked these in an 8×8 pan, and they turned out rather thin (though rich, so it worked out well), but if you want thicker blondies, doubling the recipe may work.

8 tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla or 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
Pinch salt
1 cup plus 1 tbsp all-purpose flour
1/4 cup bourbon whiskey
1/2 to 1 cup of chocolate chips

  1. Butter an 8×8 pan
  2. Mix melted butter with brown sugar – beat until smooth. Beat in egg and then vanilla.
  3. Add salt, stir in flour. Add in the bourbon and the chocolate chips, and incorporate.
  4. Pour into prepared pan. Bake at 350°F 20-25 minutes, or until set in the middle.  Cool on rack before cutting them.
Leave a Reply

